The party is ON! Join us at TNW Conference 2021 in Amsterdam for face-to-face business!

The heart of tech

This article was published on June 19, 2014

Overswipe: Give your iPhone to friends and display only the photos you want them to see

Overswipe: Give your iPhone to friends and display only the photos you want them to see
Paul Sawers
Story by

Paul Sawers

Paul Sawers was a reporter with The Next Web in various roles from May 2011 to November 2014. Follow Paul on Twitter: @psawers or check h Paul Sawers was a reporter with The Next Web in various roles from May 2011 to November 2014. Follow Paul on Twitter: @psawers or check him out on Google+.

Picture the scene: You’re guffawing over some photos you just took of your buddies larking around, and everyone now wants to see the hilarious snaps. You’re happy to hand your iPhone over, except you also have a bunch of other images on there you’d rather they didn’t see. It may scream FIRST WORLD PROBLEM, but it’s a quandary nonetheless.

This is where Overswipe for iPhone wants to help, as it lets you choose which snaps are visible.

Once you’ve given Overswipe permission to access your gallery, you tick each photo you’re happy to share, and then you hit ‘Display’. However, you’ll probably want to cough up for the $0.99 upgrade, which lets you reveal more than five images at a time.

Photo 19-06-2014 12 53 35
   
Photo 19-06-2014 12 53 56

Couldn’t your buddy just exit the gallery and view your other photos anyway? Yes, yes they could. But the Pro option also lets you set a passcode, which prevents viewers from closing the gallery mode within the app.

Overswipe isn’t going to change the world. But it’s a pretty simple idea that fixes a problem many people have, creating an instant, siloed photo album that’s separate from the rest of your images.

Overswipe | App Store