Rub shoulders with leading experts and industry disruptors at TNW Conference →

Your sardonic source for consumer tech stories

This article was published on April 20, 2021


How to watch Apple’s ‘Spring Loaded’ event

iPads and AirTags

How to watch Apple’s ‘Spring Loaded’ event
Ivan Mehta
Story by

Ivan Mehta

Ivan covers Big Tech, India, policy, AI, security, platforms, and apps for TNW. That's one heck of a mixed bag. He likes to say "Bleh." Ivan covers Big Tech, India, policy, AI, security, platforms, and apps for TNW. That's one heck of a mixed bag. He likes to say "Bleh."

Apple is finally hosting its first event of the year tonight — but it’s still all digital. The ‘Spring Loaded’ event will likely feature updated iPad Pros with the firm’s own M1 chip and AirTags trackers (finally!).

The company will start its cinematic-style pre-recorded keynote at 10AM PT/1PM ET/7PM CET/10.30PM IST. You can tune into the presentation through Apple’s own website or its YouTube channel.

What can you expect from the event?

Apple will announce new iPad Pros without a major design change, but they’ll be powered by a modified version of its own ARM-based M1 chip. The company is also expected to include a MiniLED display — at least on the 12.9-inch model — to improve brightness and viewing angles.

What’s more, the upgraded iPad Pros will also get a Thunderbolt port. In principle, it’ll still have a USB-C port, but it’ll allow you to connect peripherals such as external monitors and hard drives more easily.

Apart from the iPad Pro announcement, the tech giant will expectedly launch its AirTags trackers. These item trackers have been leaked and rumored plenty of times, but hopefully, in tonight’s event, we’ll get to actually see them. And leaked accessory photos just before the event might be an indication of the upcoming launch.

Leaked AirTags accessory

Earlier this month, Apple also opened up its Find My service to third-party partners to use their own accessories for item tracking.

Other rumored announcements include Apple’s own paid podcasting platform and an updated iMac. But we don’t need to hold our breath for long to know if any of these are true — unless Siri spills the beans again.

See you in a few hours!

Did you know we have a newsletter all about consumer tech? It’s called Plugged In – and you can subscribe to it right here.