Join us at TNW Conference 2022 for insights into the future of tech →

Your sardonic source for consumer tech stories

This article was published on October 18, 2021

Here’s how to watch Apple’s M1X MacBook Pro event

It's MacBook time

Here’s how to watch Apple’s M1X MacBook Pro event
Ivan Mehta
Story by

Ivan Mehta

Ivan covers Big Tech, India, policy, AI, security, platforms, and apps for TNW. That's one heck of a mixed bag. He likes to say "Bleh." Ivan covers Big Tech, India, policy, AI, security, platforms, and apps for TNW. That's one heck of a mixed bag. He likes to say "Bleh."

While I’m dying to watch the new season of HBO’s show Succession, tonight’s primetime slot is reserved for Apple. The event will supposedly focus on its modified M1X chips and a few new MacBook Pros powered by it.

You can watch the live stream of the event on Apple’s website or the company’s YouTube channel at 10AM PT/1PM ET/10.30PM IST/7PM CET.

Last year, Apple introduced its ARM-based indigenous chip M1. At the launch, the company also announced the MacBook Pro, the MacBook Air, and the Mac Mini — all powered by the same processor.

While the benchmark and performance of this chip exceeded expectations, many believe that there should be a Pro model with more power than Air.

According to rumors, at tonight’s event, Apple will announce 14-inch and 16-inch MacBook Pro models with a juiced-up processor. The modified chip will expectedly have 10 processing cores and 16/32 GPU cores.

A leaked photo earlier this morning suggested that the new MacBook Pros might have a notch on top of the screens instead of a bezel. Now that would be a real surprise.

Along with the new MacBook Pros, the firm might also unveil AirPods 3 with better bass and battery life. But Apple has introduced some of the previous versions of wireless earbuds in a standalone announcement. So don’t keep your hopes up.

As always, keep an eye on Plugged for all the coverage related to the Apple event.

Get the Plugged newsletter

Subscribe to our snarky newsletter all about consumer tech.

Also tagged with