Join us at TNW Conference 2021 for insights into the future of tech →

The heart of tech

This article was published on November 17, 2015


Google Photos helps free up space by deleting images you’ve already backed up

Google Photos helps free up space by deleting images you’ve already backed up
Natt Garun
Story by

Natt Garun

US Editor

Natt Garun is the former US Editor at The Next Web, managing the North American team on content, events, features and reviews coverage. She Natt Garun is the former US Editor at The Next Web, managing the North American team on content, events, features and reviews coverage. She previously wrote for Digital Trends, Business Insider, and Gizmodo. Facebook | Twitter | Google+

Hate it when you show someone a photo and they start scrolling past that image and through your gallery? Well, if you don’t have to carry those photos with you, now you don’t have to.

Google understands that not everyone can afford a phone with huge storage capacity, so starting today, its Photos app can help you save some space by deleting photos already backed up to the cloud.

As noted by a Google product engineer this morning, Google Photos for Android users can look for the “Free Up Space” button to bulk delete backed-up pics. You’ll be prompted twice to make sure you meant to delete in-device copies, and Photos will try to automatically offer this option when it detects that your phone is running out of storage room.

Tomorrow, Google will also roll out a small update to the Web version of Photos that’ll let users download backed-up photos in Original or High qualities. This means if you’ve chosen to back up photos in the original, full-resolution quality, you can opt to recover those files as a downgraded compressed version.

No word yet on when the update will arrive on iOS, so 16GB iPhone users, you’ll have to continue picking your favorite pics to save in-device for the time being.

Google Photos saves space by deleting images you’ve already backed up [Engadget]

Also tagged with