Former CEO of The Next Web. A fan of startups, entrepreneurship, getting things done faster, penning the occasional blog post, taking photos Former CEO of The Next Web. A fan of startups, entrepreneurship, getting things done faster, penning the occasional blog post, taking photos, designing, listening to good music and making lurrrve.
Facebook today announces the relaunch of its Publisher tool; the photo, video and status updating field available to you above your news stream and profile pages.
Up until now, you have only been able to share content amongst your Facebook friends. Today, that changes with the release of an option called “who do you want to tell?”.
The option makes it possible to share your posts with everyone – not just your friends – but even more interesting however is that you can share items or updates with a specific friend list too. For example, you may want to share geek stuff with your geek friends but your personal thoughts with just your closest friends and family – that is now possible.
What’s even cooler however is that you can select multiple lists if you like and even choose specific people you’d rather NOT be able to see particular shares – think parents and employers.
The options are as follows:
Everyone: Anyone, on or off, of Facebook can see it.
Friends and Networks: People you have confirmed as friends and people in any school or work networks that you’ve joined can see it.
Friends of Friends: Anyone who is friends with a friend of yours can see it.
Friends: Only people you have confirmed as friends can see it.
Custom: Choose any friend or Friend List to include or exclude from seeing that piece of content.
This further re-enforces my thoughts from earlier today that if Facebook made it possible to import Twitter friends into the social network, we’d begin to witness a Twitter migration over to the social network. I won’t repeat my thoughts here, have a read if you’re interested.
Again, as with most Facebook updates – it is being rolled out across the site gradually. People who had previous set their status updates and privacy settings to public are likely to see the update first.
via Facebook Blog
Get the TNW newsletter
Get the most important tech news in your inbox each week.