TNW València is officially sold out 🇪🇸 We will see you in 3 days

This article was published on August 21, 2012

Annoyed when Facebook tells your friends you’ve read their message? Here’s how to turn it off


Annoyed when Facebook tells your friends you’ve read their message? Here’s how to turn it off
Robin Wauters
Story by

Robin Wauters

Robin Wauters is the European Editor of The Next Web. He describes himself as a hopeless cyberflâneur, a lover of startups, his family a Robin Wauters is the European Editor of The Next Web. He describes himself as a hopeless cyberflâneur, a lover of startups, his family and Belgian beer. If you'd like to know more about Robin, head on over to robinwauters.com or follow him on Twitter.

To showcase its technology, which enables developers to create cross-browser extensions in minutes, Crossrider has built a nifty add-on that enables Facebook users to turn off the ‘read receipts’. You may remember that Facebook recently decided to show all your friends when you’ve read their messages, a feature that was first introduced to Messenger and later to Groups.

Not everyone is a fan of the feature, and there’s no way to turn it off in Facebook settings, prompting Quora threads on how to disable it and people building extensions for specific browsers (e.g. FB Unseen for Chrome).

Crossrider’s Facebook Undetected works across Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer and Safari, however, which sets it apart.

The company claims its cross-browser development framework enabled it to develop the add-on in about 5 minutes. We’ve highlighted their technology platform before, by the way.

Facebook Undetected browser add-on

Feature Image Credit: Jeff_Golden | Flickr

Get the TNW newsletter

Get the most important tech news in your inbox each week.

Also tagged with