Europe’s finest in tech: Here’s who won – and almost won – at The Europas

Europe’s finest in tech: Here’s who won – and almost won – at The Europas

I just got back from Berlin, arguably Europe’s hottest startup city (more on that later), where this year’s The Europas awards show was held.

A collaboration between Paddy Cosgrave and his untirable Web Summit team, and TechCrunch’s Mike Butcher, The Europas basically aims to shine a bright light on Europe’s best entrepreneurs, startups and investors (among other categories).

The Next Web was very proud and happy to support the event, because celebrating entrepreneurship across Europe is something that we encourage everyone to do more often – we also do our part with the Europioneers and the Europe Startup Awards.

You can find a list of all the nominees for this year’s The Europas here, but here’s a full list of the winners and runners-up (HC = highly commended):

Grand Prix

Hall of Fame
Niklas Zennstrom

People’s Choice Award
Winner: Wooga

Best Lightweight Startup
Winner: Sketchfab
HC: & Memoto

Best Middleweight Startup
Winner: Transferwise
HC: SwiftKey

Best Heavyweight Startup
Winner: Wonga
HC: Supercell

Best European Startup Accelerator/Incubator
Winner: Seedcamp
HC: Springboard

Best Angel or Seed Investor of the Year
Christophe Maire

Best Startup Founder/ Co-founders
Winner: Mendeley – Jan Reichelt, Paul Foeckler & Victor Henning
HC: SoundCloud – Eric Wahlforss & Alexander Ljung

Best Exit of 2012
Winner: (Facebook)
HC: Qype (Yelp)

Best VC of the Year (Company)
Winner: Atomico
HC: Index Ventures
HC: Passion Capital

Best VC of the Year (Individual)
Winner: Neil Rimer (Index Ventures)

Best Startup Advisor/Mentor of the Year
Winner: Max Niederhofer (Accel Partners)
HC: Philipp Moehring (Seedcamp)

Best Recruitment and Jobs Startup
Winner: InternAvenue
HC: Adzuna

Best Advertising or Marketing Tech Startup
Winner: Socialbakers
HC: Conversocial

Best Transport, Travel or Environmental Startup
Winner: Shutl
HC: BlaBlaCar

Best Education Startup
Winner: Scolibri
HC: Memrise

Best Service Provider to Startups
Winner: 33Seconds
HC: Ballou PR

Best Entertainment, Audio or Video Startup
Winner: Intellitix

Best Business, Recruitment or Enterprise Startup
Winner: DataHug
HC: Duedil

Best Commerce, Finance or Payments Startup
Winner: Toshl
HC: Dashlane

Best Culture (Fashion, Art, Music, Media) Startup
Winner: Lyst
HC: Soundrop

Best Gaming or Social Games Startup
Winner: Zeptolab
HC: Playmob

Best Product Startup
Winner: EyeEm

Best Social, Mobile or Apps Startup
Winner: Zeebox
HC: Everplaces

Tech Journalist of the Year
Ben Rooney (Wall Street Journal)

Best MENA Startup
Winner: Markafoni
HC: Cinemoz

Best CEE Startup
Winner: NextStories

Best Russian Startup
Winner: AlterGeo
HC: Zeptolab

Best Nordic Startup
Winner: Instabridge
HC: PowerKiss

Best French Startup
Winner: Qunb

Best German Startup
Winner: MyTaxi
HC: EyeEm

Best UK Startup
Winner: GoCardless
HC: Skimlinks

Best Irish Startup
Winner: DataHug
HC: CurrencyFair

Best Startup From Outside Europe
Winner: Paymentwall
HC: WalkMe

Image credit: Heisenberg Media / Flickr

Read next: London's Tube WiFi goes paid from January 29, as Virgin Media, EE and Vodafone customers retain free access