Gorillaz iPad-created album, The Fall, available now for free

Gorillaz iPad-created album, The Fall, available now for free

Earlier this month we brought you news that Gorillaz would release a free album created using the iPad on Christmas day.  Christmas day is here and with it comes the latest album from Gorillaz, The Fall.

By visiting the band’s site, the album can be downloaded for free now for members of the Gorillaz fan club. For those that are not members, you’re limited to being able only to stream the entire album (physical release of the album is scheduled for later in 2011). Not the “free” that I and other non-members expected, but grand none the less.

The Fall, produced by Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn, was recorded during the band’s 32 day autumn North American Tour which took the group Montreal to Vancouver via Seattle, Texas and Toronto.  What resulted from the effort is 15 tracks, both instrumentals and some using vocals, some solo performances and others a collaborative effort.

According to Albarn:

“The music was recorded during spare time while on the road. I did it because there’s a lot of time that you just spend staring at walls essentially. And it was a fantastic way of doing it. I found working in the day, whether it’s in the hotel or in the venue, it was a brilliant way of keeping myself well.”


“The collection is ..like a diary, I literally wrote everything on the day in each place and there’s a strange sort of sound of America and its musical traditions that comes through. It feels like a journey through America”

All tracks written and performed for the album were done so by Gorillaz using the iPad and and other instruments including: Korg Vocoder, Ukelele, Microkorg, Omnichord, Moog Voyager, Melodica, Guitar, Piano, Korg Monotron.

The apps used to create the album include:

“Speak It! / SoundyThingie / Mugician / Solo Synth / Synth / Funk Box / Gliss / AmpliTube / Xenon / iElectribe / BS-16i / M3000 HD / Cleartune / iOrgel HD / Olsynth / StudioMiniXI / BassLine / Harmonizer / Dub Siren Pro / Moog Filatron”

The full track listing is:

  1. Phoner To Arizona
  2. Revolving Doors
  3. HillBilly Man
  4. Detroit
  5. Shy-town
  6. Little Pink Plastic Bags
  7. The Joplin Spider
  8. The Parish of Space Dust
  9. The Snake In Dallas
  10. Amarillo
  11. The Speak It Mountains
  12. Aspen Forest
  13. Bobby In Phoenix
  14. California And The Slipping Of The Sun
  15. Seattle Yodel

After spending the better part of the morning listening to the album, the fourth effort from Gorillaz is mainly an electronic product, featuring upbeat moments, melancholy portions and everything in-between.   If you like Gorillaz, you’ll certainly enjoy their latest release, even more so when one considers how the final product came to fruition.

Read next: How the partners at TNW wished each other a Merry Christmas this year