Twitter has added a pop-up message to profile pages when viewed by logged-out users.

The message allows users to enter a username, email address and password to sign up right away. It even lets you auto-follow the account you’re currently looking at and three similar accounts from the same interface. In the case of our The Next Web account in the example below, it’s grouped in our @TNWapple Twitter channel as well as two relating to Twitter’s own Tweetdeck service.

While this may be a little annoying for anyone who just wants to read the latest updates from their favourite celebrities, it’s seemingly designed as a way to convert those casual visitors into active users as painlessly as possible.

Those active users, of course, will be more likely to hang around and see ads in their own timeline when the expected feature rolls out, helping to generate revenue for the company.

Screen shot 2011 07 15 at 16.09.56 520x297 Twitter gets more proactive about signing up logged out users