Facebook wants to remind you that it’s getting ready to completely retire a seldom-used feature that lets you prevent others from looking up your Timeline simply by searching your name.

Today’s announcement comes ten months after the company’s Director of Identity Products Group Sam Lessin first mentioned it. The expectation is that by streamlining controls, users will be able to better manager their content.

Screen shot 1 730x278 Reminder: Facebook is removing its Who can look up your Timeline by name? feature

If you still have the “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” setting, Facebook will display a notification reminding you of its eventual demise. The social network company wants you to manage what content people see through its granular privacy settings.

Photo credit: Justin Sullivan/Getty Images