While we’re currently drowning in messaging apps, email is still the universal means of communication. You don’t need a proprietary app to send an email. What you do need is support of languages and regional dialects. To get more people connected, Google just announced it’s added 13 new languages to Gmail.

The new languages are: Afrikaans, Armenian, Azerbaijani (Azeri), Chinese (Hong Kong), French (Canada), Galician, Georgian, Khmer, Lao, Mongolian, Nepali, Sinhala and Zulu. Google enlisted linguists to ensure that languages actually make sense to native speakers in a specific region.

The languages are available today for Web and feature phone users and can be enabled via Settings.