Facebook history is being made today as it hosts the first ever live Q&A from space, beginning at around 1:55pm BST/8.55am EDT, 5.55am PDT/2.55pm CEST.

At that time (or thereabouts – Facebook warned there could be a slight delay depending on the satellite connection), Alexander Gerst will spend 20 minutes responding to questions on camera live from the International Space Station. After this, he’ll spend another 30 minutes answering more questions in text form on his Facebook page.

So, if you’ve always had a burning question you wanted to ask an astronaut in space, today is your chance, if you’re quick.

➤ Facebook ESAAlexGerst

Image credit: Paolo Nespoli – ESA/NASA via Getty Images