BBM Channels coming to BlackBerry smartphones later today, will hit iOS and Android in coming months

BBM Channels coming to BlackBerry smartphones later today, will hit iOS and Android in coming months

BBM Channels, a new part of BlackBerry’s popular cross-platform mobile messaging app BBM, will be available later today on any handset running BlackBerry OS 5 and above.

The struggling smartphone maker is calling the release an open beta – it’s not quite ready for an official release, it would seem – and will be added as part of the latest app update available in BlackBerry World.

F**k it, we'll do it live!

Our biggest ever edition of TNW Conference is fast approaching! Join 10,000 tech leaders this May in Amsterdam.

BBM Channels is a separate part of the app where you can follow and converse with your favorite brands and businesses. You can like, comment and share content posted by a BBM Channel, or enter a one-to-one private chat session with the owner or manager of the page. It’s also possible to subscribe to a BBM Channel and receive notifications when new content is uploaded.

BBM Channels has been available as a limited beta since May, shortly after the feature was announced alongside BBM for iOS and Android. It’s a similar concept to Plus Friend Home: A combination of both instant messaging and passive social network accounts which Korean-startup Kakao offers in Kakao Talk, its own cross-platform mobile messaging app.

A BlackBerry spokesperson said BBM Channels will be available from 8pm GMT/3pm ET/12pm PT. The feature will be added to the BBM iOS and Android apps “in the coming months.”

➤ BBM Channels

Read next: I rented apartments to rent on Airbnb for profit. Here's how it turned out

Shh. Here's some distraction

Comments