Google has just updated its Translate app for Android with a number of new features, including camera-input support for Chinese, Japanese, and Korean, plus adding handwriting support for 11 more languages.

With this update Google Translate for Android can now translate text between 65 languages. As for the new handwriting recognition support, Afrikaans, Croatian, Czech, Icelandic, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Slovak, Slovenian, Ukrainian and Welsh are all now supported.

Additionally, although Chinese, Japanese, and Korean text can now be recognized with your camera, only horizontal text is supported for now.

Google Translate for the Web recently received an update as well, adding reverse translations and synonym clusters, while prioritizing the most popular results.

➤ Google Translate for Android

Image credit: Thinkstock