Gadgets for humans

Google services are down right now (Update: they’re back)

Google is down

Update (6:04 PM IST / 1:34PM CET): Google services seem to be returning to normal now, after a global outage lasting roughly 40 minutes. However, some users report being logged out of certain Google apps; you may need to log back in before you can use them again.

Update (5:36PM IST / 1:06PM CET): Google Search is up and running now. Other services are still down.

Our original report follows.

Yup, it’s not just you — many Google services, including Gmail, G Suite, and YouTube are unavailable across many countries around the world right now. The cause of the outage is presently unclear. We’ll update this post as we learn more.

That means more than 2 billion users are currently locked out of their email inboxes, cloud storage, documents, and Watch Later playlists. It’s all in keeping with the end times theme of 2020, I guess.

The company’s services previously faced a major outage of this scale back in August. It took around four hours to restore them for some users, reported The Verge. Hopefully we won’t have to wait that long this time around.

Addendum: A Google spokesperson explained the outage was the result of an internal storage quota issue:

Today, at 3.47AM PT Google experienced an authentication system outage for approximately 45 minutes due to an internal storage quota issue. Services requiring users to log in experienced high error rates during this period. The authentication system issue was resolved at 4:32AM PT. All services are now restored. We apologize to everyone affected, and we will conduct a thorough follow up review to ensure this problem cannot recur in the future.

Did you know we have a newsletter all about consumer tech? It’s called Plugged In – and you can subscribe to it right here.

Published December 14, 2020 — 11:59 UTC