The heart of tech

This article was published on October 10, 2013


Reminder: Facebook is removing its ‘Who can look up your Timeline by name?’ feature

Reminder: Facebook is removing its ‘Who can look up your Timeline by name?’ feature Image by: Justin Sullivan
Ken Yeung
Story by

Ken Yeung

Ken Yeung is a reporter for The Next Web based in San Francisco, CA. He carries around a big camera & likes to write about tech, startup Ken Yeung is a reporter for The Next Web based in San Francisco, CA. He carries around a big camera & likes to write about tech, startups, parties, and interesting people. Follow him on Twitter, on Facebook, and Google+.

Facebook wants to remind you that it’s getting ready to completely retire a seldom-used feature that lets you prevent others from looking up your Timeline simply by searching your name.

Today’s announcement comes ten months after the company’s Director of Identity Products Group Sam Lessin first mentioned it. The expectation is that by streamlining controls, users will be able to better manager their content.

Screen shot 1

If you still have the “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” setting, Facebook will display a notification reminding you of its eventual demise. The social network company wants you to manage what content people see through its granular privacy settings.

Photo credit: Justin Sullivan/Getty Images