The heart of tech

This article was published on July 4, 2014


Morph is back! First episode in the Kickstarter-funded series hits YouTube later today

Morph is back! First episode in the Kickstarter-funded series hits YouTube later today
Nick Summers
Story by

Nick Summers

Nick Summers is a technology journalist for The Next Web. He writes on all sorts of topics, although he has a passion for gadgets, apps and Nick Summers is a technology journalist for The Next Web. He writes on all sorts of topics, although he has a passion for gadgets, apps and video games in particular. You can reach him on Twitter, circle him on Google+ and connect with him on LinkedIn.

Morph, the beloved stop-motion sketch show featuring a tiny, orangey-brown character made entirely from plasticine, is ready for a comeback.

After a successful Kickstarter campaign last fall, Aardman Animations will kick off a brand-new Morph series on YouTube later today. The troublesome figurine will feature alongside his short-tempered sidekick Chas with the usual heart-warming humor and classic animation that Aardman is known for.

Similar to the original episodes, these sketches will be short-form – probably between one-minute and 90-seconds in length. It’s the perfect format for YouTube and youngsters browsing the internet, who typically prefer bite-sized video content. Sesame Street has built a strong following on the platform and Morph, in its own small way, could be set to do the same.

If you need a reminder, here’s a well-known Morph sketch to brighten up your Friday. The first new episode should go live on YouTube later today at 5:15pm BST/ 12:15pm ET/ 9:15am PST. We can’t wait.

Brand New Morph! [YouTube]

Also tagged with