The heart of tech

This article was published on April 20, 2017


HTC’s squeezable phone is coming next month

HTC’s squeezable phone is coming next month
Abhimanyu Ghoshal
Story by

Abhimanyu Ghoshal

Managing Editor

Abhimanyu is TNW's Managing Editor, and is all about personal devices, Asia's tech ecosystem, as well as the intersection of technology and Abhimanyu is TNW's Managing Editor, and is all about personal devices, Asia's tech ecosystem, as well as the intersection of technology and culture. Hit him up on Twitter, or write in: [email protected].

HTC is gearing up to unveil its U squeezable phone, and it now has a date in mind for the big reveal: May 16.

The HTC U is expected to bring a new feature called Edge Sense, which uses sensors embedded in the handset’s frame to let you control apps and phone functions by squeezing or swiping along the sides of the device.

According to a recent report from VentureBeat’s Evan Blass, the 5.5-inch phone will also feature a 12-megapixel rear camera and a 16-megapixel snapper on the front, as well as a 2,560 x 1,440 pixel display. It’ll be interesting to see if the Taiwanese firm can shake things up in the premium phone arena this year, what with Samsung’s Galaxy S8 currently hogging the spotlight and Xiaomi’s powerful new Mi 6 going on sale soon in China.

Unless more information leaks before the official launch, we’ll get our first proper look at the HTC U on May 16 at 2AM EDT / 11 PM PDT / 7AM GMT / 11:30 AM IST.

Also tagged with