The party is ON! Join us at TNW Conference 2021 in Amsterdam for face-to-face business!

The heart of tech

This article was published on September 23, 2013

Having problems with Gmail today? Don’t worry, it’s not just you

Having problems with Gmail today? Don’t worry, it’s not just you Image by: KIMIHIRO HOSHINO
Nick Summers
Story by

Nick Summers

Nick Summers is a technology journalist for The Next Web. He writes on all sorts of topics, although he has a passion for gadgets, apps and Nick Summers is a technology journalist for The Next Web. He writes on all sorts of topics, although he has a passion for gadgets, apps and video games in particular. You can reach him on Twitter, circle him on Google+ and connect with him on LinkedIn.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 10.58.15 PMIf you find yourself wrestling with Gmail today or have no access to Google’s email service whatsoever, don’t worry. You’re not alone.

Update: Google apologizes for 11 hours of Gmail issues affecting 29% of emails, blames dual network failure

The Google Apps Status Dashboard shows that a service disruption was picked up for Gmail at 3:25pm BST (10:25am ET, or 07:25am PT).

A search on Twitter for ‘Gmail down‘ also reveals a steady stream of users reporting similar problems. The description of the status report, as usual, says that Google is investigating the problem.

We’ll update this article when Google manages to bring Gmail back to full working order.

Google apps status dashboard

Photo credit: KIMIHIRO HOSHINO/AFP/Getty Images / Image Credit AllGeek