Join us at TNW Conference 2022 for insights into the future of tech →

The heart of tech

This article was published on April 14, 2016

Google Drive now lets you save storage by picking which folders to sync

Google Drive now lets you save storage by picking which folders to sync
Napier Lopez
Story by

Napier Lopez

Reporter

Napier Lopez is a writer based in New York City. He's interested in all things tech, science, and photography related, and likes to yo-yo in Napier Lopez is a writer based in New York City. He's interested in all things tech, science, and photography related, and likes to yo-yo in his free time. Follow him on Twitter.

Google’s giving you more control over how you sync Drive files to your PC: you no longer have to sync all of your cloud files.

A new option in the Google Drive for Mac and PC apps lets you select only the folders and subfolders you want to sync; that should save you a fair bit of storage if you only really need to sync a few files, instead of your entire Drive.

To access the new feature, open the Google Drive app, click on Menu> Preferences>Sync Options, and then choose “Sync only these folders”. You’ll then be able to check and uncheck folders to your heart’s content.

You can also see how much space each folder takes up, as well as the remaining storage on your computer, so you can keep track of exactly how much space you’re saving.

xAV_vxmH59Br4V6E5q9Qg5TXhFj2sGRgAgwysa_izSkKklUhMS2I2UJLhRnTc2HuOtQY1w=s2048

Finally, Google will also now warn you if you move a file out a shared folder, as it means others might lose access to the files. The changes are rolling out to all Drive for Mac/PC users “over the next week or so.”

 

Also tagged with