Join us at TNW Conference 2022 for insights into the future of tech →

The heart of tech

This article was published on January 13, 2014

Google Apps gets new ‘Email via Google+’ feature in Gmail, but admins have to turn it on in the console

Google Apps gets new ‘Email via Google+’ feature in Gmail, but admins have to turn it on in the console
Emil Protalinski
Story by

Emil Protalinski

Emil was a reporter for The Next Web between 2012 and 2014. Over the years, he has covered the tech industry for multiple publications, incl Emil was a reporter for The Next Web between 2012 and 2014. Over the years, he has covered the tech industry for multiple publications, including Ars Technica, Neowin, TechSpot, ZDNet, and CNET. Stay in touch via Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.

Google last week announced a controversial feature that brings its email and social services closer together: anyone on Google+ can now email your Gmail account without knowing your email address. The company today revealed the feature is coming to Google Apps “over the next few days.”

There is one important difference for this feature in Google Apps compared to regular Gmail: domain administrators will have the option to control the availability of the feature through a new setting in the Admin console. If you’re an administrator, you should know it will be available under Google Apps, Gmail Settings, and then End User Settings. By default, Google tells TNW the feature will be turned off.

connections1

The good news is that your email address isn’t visible to a Google+ connection unless you send a reply email. The reverse is also true: his or her email address isn’t visible to you unless he or she replies to your email.

You can control whether people can reach you this way with a new setting called “Email via Google+” (if you don’t see it, then the feature hasn’t landed in your account yet or it has, but an administrator hasn’t turned it on). You can choose between Anyone on Google+, Extended circles, Circles, and No one:

connections2

Google says the default setting for Google Apps users will be “Anyone on Google+,” which as we’ve noted before, is quite unfortunate. We believe the default for this feature should be opt-in not opt-out, but at least in the case of Google Apps, administrators have to opt-in first before users have to opt-out. Our quick guide on disabling the feature is linked below.

See also – How to stop anyone on Google+ from emailing your Gmail account and Gmail now lets you email your Google+ connections, but addresses are only shared when you hit send

Top Image Credit: Johannes Eisele/Getty Images

Also tagged with