Join us at TNW Conference 2021 for insights into the future of tech →

Inside money, markets, and Big Tech

This article was published on April 12, 2008


Google AdSense Down

Google AdSense Down
Boris Veldhuijzen van Zanten
Story by

Boris Veldhuijzen van Zanten

CEO and co-founder, TNW

Boris is a serial entrepreneur who founded not only TNW, but also V3 Redirect Services (sold), HubHop Wireless Internet Provider (sold), and Boris is a serial entrepreneur who founded not only TNW, but also V3 Redirect Services (sold), HubHop Wireless Internet Provider (sold), and pr.co. Boris is very active on Twitter as @Boris and Instagram: @Boris.

Google AdsenseYesterday we reported that Yahoo! is thinking about partnering with AOL and using Google’s Adsense program instead of its own to boost revenue.

It is ironic that today Google AdSense is down with a “The Google AdSense website is temporarily unavailable. Please try back later. We apologize for any inconvenience” message in 27 languages. AdSense is Google’s ad-placing program. It is the program that puts ads on website and blogs. It seems that ads are being served but the site to monitor and manage them just seems down.

Google Adwords, the ad-selling system where advertisers pay money to advertise on Google or on individual websites, is still up.

UPDATE: It is a scheduled maintenance job:

Site maintenance on April 12 at 10am PDT
Our engineers will be performing routine site maintenance tomorrow, April 12th from 10am to 2pm PDT. You won’t be able to log in to your account, but we’ll continue to serve ads to your pages and track your earnings as usual.

Located in a different time zone? Here’s the maintenance start time in a number of cities around the world:

Ottawa – 1 pm Saturday
London – 6 pm Saturday
Hyderabad – 10:30 pm Saturday
Hong Kong – 1 am Sunday
Canberra – 3 am Sunday

My suggestion to Google: put a link to that blogpost on your error page. Not every Adsense subscriber reads the Adsense blog.