The party is ON! Join us at TNW Conference 2021 in Amsterdam for face-to-face business!

The heart of tech

This article was published on February 1, 2018

Diablo creator goes solo for his next RPG, It Lurks Below

Diablo creator goes solo for his next RPG, It Lurks Below
Abhimanyu Ghoshal
Story by

Abhimanyu Ghoshal

Managing Editor

Abhimanyu is TNW's Managing Editor, and is all about personal devices, Asia's tech ecosystem, as well as the intersection of technology and Abhimanyu is TNW's Managing Editor, and is all about personal devices, Asia's tech ecosystem, as well as the intersection of technology and culture. Hit him up on Twitter, or write in: [email protected].

After 27 years in the business, renowned game developer David Brevik is following up his big-ticket productions – which include the massively popular RPG, Diablo, as well as Hellgate: London, and Marvel Heroes – with a homemade title that’s he building on his own.

It Lurks Below is the first major release from Brevik’s new studio, Graybeard Games. It’s essentially a 2D side-scrolling action RPG with digging and crafting mechanics, with a roguelike system that will procedurally generate unique levels and feature randomized enemies to battle.

Credit: Graybeard Games / via Polygon

Brevik, who worked on everything from the art to the sound and programming all on his own, plans to release the game on Steam later this year, and is kicking off a closed beta (sorry, registrations have ended now) this weekend.

If you’re interested in getting a better look, you can tune into a stream on Graybeard Games’ Twitch channel on Friday (February 2) at 9pm PT / 12am ET / 6am CET.

Via Polygon