Rub shoulders with leading experts and industry disruptors at TNW Conference →

The heart of tech

This article was published on June 29, 2012


Ctrl+Z: You can now ‘Undo’ actions in Dropbox’s Web interface, with keyboard shortcuts too

Ctrl+Z: You can now ‘Undo’ actions in Dropbox’s Web interface, with keyboard shortcuts too
Matt Brian
Story by

Matt Brian

Matt is the former News Editor for The Next Web. You can follow him on Twitter, subscribe to his updates on Facebook and catch up with him Matt is the former News Editor for The Next Web. You can follow him on Twitter, subscribe to his updates on Facebook and catch up with him on Google+.

Realising the importance of being able to roll back actions no matter where they perform actions in their accounts, Dropbox has added Undo actions to to its Web interface, allowing users to correct their mistakes if they move, rename of copy a file that they didn’t mean to.

Dropbox already likens itself as a “time machine” and already keeps snapshots of every change in a users Dropbox folder over a 30 day period. By choosing to restore a previous version of the file, damaged files can be restored and headaches avoided.

However, with its new Undo feature, Dropbox users interacting with files via the Web can instantly roll back such an error, clicking the Undo link at the top of the screen as soon as a mistake is made.

Making it even easier for Windows and Mac owners, Dropbox has enabled support for Ctrl-Z and ⌘+Z keyboard shortcuts, so it doesn’t even require a mouse action to revert back that change.

[Image Credit: FlickrIan Lamont]