Join us at TNW Conference 2022 for insights into the future of tech →

The heart of tech

This article was published on February 14, 2016

Adobe is working on a fix for its Creative Cloud file deletion problem

Adobe is working on a fix for its Creative Cloud file deletion problem
Nate Swanner
Story by

Nate Swanner

Former Reporter, TNW

TNW's former West Coast writer in the PNW (Portland, Oregon). Nate loves amplifying developers, and codes in Swift when he's not writing. If TNW's former West Coast writer in the PNW (Portland, Oregon). Nate loves amplifying developers, and codes in Swift when he's not writing. If you need to get in touch, Twitter is your best bet.

Update:The fix has now been released in version 3.5.1.209

Late last week, a troubling issue with Adobe Creative Cloud popped up. Fortunately, Adobe is now working on a fix, and has stopped issuing the update that was causing all of the issues.

With an update to Adobe Creative Cloud version 3.5.0.206, users were reporting that Creative Cloud was deleting folders on the root drive without authorization. Originally thought to be limited to customers of online backup service Backblaze, it was quickly found to have affected just about everyone.

Adobe is now aware of the issue. Speaking to Ars Technica, an Adobe spokesperson says a fix is in the works:

We are aware that some customers have experienced this issue and we are investigating in order to resolve the matter as quickly as possible. We are stopping the distribution of the update until the issue has been resolved.

If you haven’t updated your Creative Cloud suite yet — don’t. If you have, I hope you’re not missing any critical files. The deletion is absolute.

The problem only exists when you login to Creative Cloud so if you’ve updated already, don’t use it. The folder deletion seems to be alphabetical, so creating a hidden ‘.a—‘ folder may be helpful.

If you want to do that, enter “cd /“ in terminal, followed by “sudo mkdir /.aaaaaaa” or a file name of your choosing.

Warning: Bug in Adobe Creative Cloud deletes Mac user data without warning [Ars Technica]