HTC’s squeezable phone is coming next month

Credit: Evan Blass / Twitter

HTC is gearing up to unveil its U squeezable phone, and it now has a date in mind for the big reveal: May 16.

The HTC U is expected to bring a new feature called Edge Sense, which uses sensors embedded in the handset’s frame to let you control apps and phone functions by squeezing or swiping along the sides of the device.

Ever been to a tech festival?

TNW Conference won best European Event 2016 for our festival vibe. See what's in store for 2017.

According to a recent report from VentureBeat’s Evan Blass, the 5.5-inch phone will also feature a 12-megapixel rear camera and a 16-megapixel snapper on the front, as well as a 2,560 x 1,440 pixel display. It’ll be interesting to see if the Taiwanese firm can shake things up in the premium phone arena this year, what with Samsung’s Galaxy S8 currently hogging the spotlight and Xiaomi’s powerful new Mi 6 going on sale soon in China.

Unless more information leaks before the official launch, we’ll get our first proper look at the HTC U on May 16 at 2AM EDT / 11 PM PDT / 7AM GMT / 11:30 AM IST.

Read next: Snaphash is an augmented reality weed doctor for your iPhone

Here's some more distraction

Comments