Not long after introducing Stories to Instagram, the company added a live streaming feature akin to the one already available on Facebook. Problem is, once a livestream finished, it was gone forever.
Now Instagram lets you streamers save their videos. Once a broadcast has ended, simply click on the Save button on the upper-right corner of the app. The video will still disappear from Instagram itself, but it will be saved onto your camera roll – though there’s nothing stopping you from posting it right back onto Instagram.
The video is can only be saved by the streamer, so you don’t have to worry about whatever embarrassing thing you did during a stream.
Unfortunately, the feature only includes the video itself; comment, likes, and views are gone forever. It’s also worth noting you can only save a video immediately after its finished, so there’s no going back if you forgot to tap the button. But hey, it’s better than nothing.
Celebrate Pride 2020 with us this month!
Why is queer representation so important? What's it like being trans in tech? How do I participate virtually? You can find all our Pride 2020 coverage here.