We received multiple reports earlier today from people who have received direct messages from friends on Twitter asking whether it was them pictured in a photo – with a link included.

We refrained from covering the story in the hope that Twitter would have gained control of the situation but hours later, they are still rife and spreading fast.

The messages might say “is this you in the video?” or “is this you in this picture?” and you’ll be taken to a phishing site looks that looks exactly like twitter.com with a slight tweak on the URL (see screenshot below).

Picture 1068 520x461 Hours later Is This You? DM phishing scam still flooding Twitter

Needless to say, DON’T type in your username and password. If you use Chrome, the browser should warn you before you visit the site that it may be a phishing site.

Twitter is aware of the issue with Del Harvey, in charge of Twitter’s Safety team, saying that Twitter is resetting the passwords of users who it believes have been hit by the phishing attack and users should read this for more information as to what to do if you feel your account has been compromised.