Messaging app Line has introduced new security measures that notify users when their account is accessed via its desktop app and Web-based store.
The move appears to be a response to pressure in its native Japan, where police have fielded complaints from users whose accounts have been accessed by third parties. The company denied that its database was hacked, and instead asked users to create more sophisticated passwords and keep their user ID private.
F**k it, we'll do it live!
Our biggest ever edition of TNW Conference is fast approaching! Join 10,000 tech leaders this May in Amsterdam.
The new feature sends a chat ping when users log in to the Mac or Windows app, or the Web store. It also sends a notification in the event of any unsuccessful attempts to log in.
If a third-party has gotten access, the mobile app can be used to remotely log out of the PC app, after which the password can be changed. There is a link that users can follow if their Web store account has been compromised. We tested both, and they worked as explained.
Line has been focused on security recently. It added self-destructing and encrypted messaging to its mobile service, while its iOS and Android apps can be locked with a designated password. Gaining access to another user’s account via the mobile apps is harder because it can be tied to a specific phone number.
Line does not allow users to access their account from multiple mobile devices, and that seems unlikely to change given this new focus on user security.
Read next: The Roku TV is now available for pre-order