Sony’s PS4 goes on sale in 16 more countries across Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Latin America


Sony’s PlayStation 4 games console is going on sale in 16 additional countries today, following its initial launch last month in the US.

The console has been available since the middle of November in the US, and since the 29th November in much of Europe and Australasia but is now a viable next-gen gaming option for potential purchasers in 16 more countries, including: Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, Oman and South Africa. Sony also confirmed that the device is also being offered in Bolivia, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Uruguay and Venezuela from today, taking the total to 48.

The Xbox One, Microsoft’s rival next-gen console also launched around the same time as the PS4 (slightly earlier, in fact) but was available in fewer countries from launch, and has still yet to arrive in Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, or Switzerland – all of which will have to wait until next year to get their hands on the device. Both Sony and Microsoft have claimed in the last few days that they sold 2 million units in a little over 2 weeks.

➤ PS4 available in 48 Countries [PlayStation Blog]



Published December 13, 2013 — 10:07 UTC