Facebook is changing the default privacy setting for new status updates from Public to Friends. Whereas before all status updates were publicly visible – unless you remembered to change the setting – new users will now see that their first post is set to the Friends option.
In addition, first-time posters will be reminded that this feature exists at all. It’s a hidden nugget of Facebook that’s not widely publicized, so the company is increasing its exposure with a revamped on-boarding process. When the user begins writing their first status update, a small window will appear to explain the privacy setting and give them the chance to switch the default option.
For existing users, Facebook is adding a new and expanded privacy checkup tool, which will walk concerned users through their current settings. The social network can be a quagmire of toggles and options, so the idea is to clearly illustrate who they’re posting to, which apps can access their data and the privacy level of their profile.
“We want to do all we can to put power and control in people’s hands,” the company said. “This new tool is designed to help people make sure they are sharing with just the audience they want. Everything about how privacy works on Facebook remains the same.”
Image Credit: JONATHAN NACKSTRAND/AFP/Getty Images