According to a report by Gizmodo, Facebook has now exposed something that has been deep and dark for some time. What friends of yours on Facebook have unfriended you.
Some people take this very seriously, and this could cause a lot of grief for longtime pals and colleagues.
Basically, in your new Facebook Timeline, which tracks everything you’ve done on the Facebook system from the day you were born and then signed up, lets you look at your friends.
One thing is different though, it shows you what friends you’re no longer friends with, because it’s showing you the timeline of who you’ve been friends with historically. Current or not. We confirmed this today. As you’ll see, the “Add a friend” button is shown for people I’m no longer Facebook friends with.
UPDATE 9:40pm PT
It appears as if this has been changed by Facebook, as tipped by Jesse Middleton. Perhaps Facebook didn’t intend for this to be a “feature”, and it was just an unintended bug with their latest Timeline release. See the updated image below:
Pssst, hey you!
Do you want to get the sassiest daily tech newsletter every day, in your inbox, for FREE? Of course you do: sign up for Big Spam here.