First Apple Music trials end tomorrow: Here’s how to avoid accidentally paying

First Apple Music trials end tomorrow: Here’s how to avoid accidentally paying

If you were one of the early adopters of Apple Music, you may be aware that your free trial is about to end as Apple has started sending notifications and emails to subscribers today in one last push to promote the subscription service.

Apple said originally that people were going to be automatically opted into auto-renewal, meaning that if you don’t turn it off today, it will start charging you full whack for your subscription from tomorrow. That’s $9.99 for a single user or $14.99 for a family account.

Thankfully, cancelling automatic renewal of your subscription is pretty straightforward:

AppleMusicCancel

    1. In the Music app, tap your profile icon in the upper-left corner.
    2. Tap View Apple ID.
    3. Under Subscriptions, tap Manage. If you have more than one subscription, tap Membership to see your membership options.
    4. Under Renewal Options, turn off Automatic Renewal. Confirm your decision, then tap Done.
    5. Tap Done to return to your Account screen,and then tap Done on the next screen to return to the app and you’re finished.

Apple Music hit a milestone after just five weeks when the company announced its streaming service had 11 million users signed up. These were all part of the free three month trial, so it will be interesting to see next month how that number holds up or if the only people on Apple Music are the ones who forgot to cancel their subscriptions.

Read next: Axel Springer acquires Business Insider for $442m

Here's some more distraction

Comments