Google AdSense Down

Google AdSense Down

Google AdsenseYesterday we reported that Yahoo! is thinking about partnering with AOL and using Google’s Adsense program instead of its own to boost revenue.

It is ironic that today Google AdSense is down with a “The Google AdSense website is temporarily unavailable. Please try back later. We apologize for any inconvenience” message in 27 languages. AdSense is Google’s ad-placing program. It is the program that puts ads on website and blogs. It seems that ads are being served but the site to monitor and manage them just seems down.

Google Adwords, the ad-selling system where advertisers pay money to advertise on Google or on individual websites, is still up.

UPDATE: It is a scheduled maintenance job:

Site maintenance on April 12 at 10am PDT
Our engineers will be performing routine site maintenance tomorrow, April 12th from 10am to 2pm PDT. You won’t be able to log in to your account, but we’ll continue to serve ads to your pages and track your earnings as usual.

Located in a different time zone? Here’s the maintenance start time in a number of cities around the world:

Ottawa – 1 pm Saturday
London – 6 pm Saturday
Hyderabad – 10:30 pm Saturday
Hong Kong – 1 am Sunday
Canberra – 3 am Sunday

My suggestion to Google: put a link to that blogpost on your error page. Not every Adsense subscriber reads the Adsense blog.

Read next: Web 2.0 Expo attendees, let's talk about Europe

Shh. Here's some distraction

Comments